fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...

TOPIC:

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 26 Nov 2013 12:10 #34684

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
UPDATE. The random restarts were becoming less random. Got to the point where the computer would continually boot. Tried removing everything external, used different boot drives, reinstalled the OS, gave the internals a good cleaning, reseated ram etc.

It was only when I started to pull ram out that I struck the problem. It would appear that some of my RAM has gone bad. Didn't know this was possible, but I'm happy to say there is still life in the old girl yet!

In fact she pumped out a nice little VNR yesterday bless her. :cheer:

HAPPY DAYS. Shhhhhhhhh…now when is Darth Vader's rubbish bin shipping?!? ;)
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 26 Nov 2013 21:29 #34700

Some interesting notes about the relative performance in single and multi-core performance on the new MacPro's CPUs

www.marco.org/2013/11/26/new-mac-pro-cpus

Someone's going to need to write a really good article on this once the MacPro and FCPX 10.1 come out.

I think it goes without saying that FCPX and Motion will use as much OpenGL enhanced GPU power as you can throw at them. But I'm still not exactly clear what benefits we'll get out of the 12-core vs 8-core CPU in practical FCPX use. The only heavily multithreaded operations I know are encoding, depending on the program. But at perhaps an extra $1000 price premium for the 12 vs 8 core CPU, I'm not sure it's worth it.

Might be far more beneficial to max out the RAM.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Nov 2013 02:01 #34721

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
Very interesting indeed. When I got my current MacPro I went the whole hog but it was only in the later years where I feel I was taping it out. (Mainly because of HD)

I guess this will be similar with the onset of 4K probably not gaining traction for another 5 years or so.

So what would everyone here get? I'm thinking of straight down the middle with either a 6 or 8 core depending on how much more it is. Probably go with 16-24 GB of Ram.

Hopefully that will be under $5K.
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Seanus.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Nov 2013 02:16 #34724

Right now the configuration I can best see myself getting is-

512GB HD (OS and Applications ONLY)
64GB RAM (aftermarket from OWC)
8-core CPU (unless I see a compelling case to go 12-core)
D700 GPUs (this will be expensive but worth it)

Unless Apple releases a surprise 4K display, I'll also have to invest in at least 1 27" CinemaDisplay. Maybe 2 if I can get them refurbished for $800 each.

My 10% business discount will certainly add up here.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Disproportionate Pictures.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Nov 2013 02:36 #34726

I saw this today along with a patent filing for a 4k display

www.macrumors.com/2013/11/26/new-display...f-4k-apple-displays/

I'm sure they will be amazing. I've never waited in line for an iPhone, but I would for the Mac Pro.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Nov 2013 09:28 #34746

I saw this today along with a patent filing for a 4k display….

… shouldn't be a 'pro' computer monitor offer 4096 x 2160 "Cinema 4K", +70Hz, and 10bit color…?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Nov 2013 16:39 #34761

  • VidGreg
  • VidGreg's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 1006
  • Karma: 28
  • Thank you received: 207
Saw a MacWorld article today stating the price for the new MacPro start at $2999.00 for the duo 4core with FirePro D300s and $3999.00 for the 6core version with FPD500s. Not sure this has been verified, but first I have seen $$ assigned to new MP. This is a lot cheaper than the RED version that just sold for close to a Million dollars.
See link here…http://www.macworld.com/article/2067320/apples-new-mac-pro-signals-commitment-to-professional-computing.html

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Nov 2013 16:58 #34762

This info has been on Apple's website since October:

store.apple.com/us/buy-mac/mac-pro

It's the configuration pricing for the higher end CPU, GPU, etc.. we don't know yet.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Nov 2013 17:23 #34766

  • VidGreg
  • VidGreg's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 1006
  • Karma: 28
  • Thank you received: 207
Yep, me bad. Pricing for 4 core and 6 core on Apple site.
www.apple.com/mac-pro/specs/

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 28 Nov 2013 16:15 #34825

I just chatted with an Apple business rep. Considering what the individual components cost, and what some of the estimates were, I'm SHOCKED at how good the pricing is.

A MAXED OUT MacPro- 1TB SSD, 64GB RAM, D700s, and 12-core CPU is... CN$9,700.

I also had him price out a 8-core with the 500GB SSD- and that was CN$7,700.

I'm amazed.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Disproportionate Pictures.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 06 Dec 2013 22:09 #35256

Well, forget Apple releasing any 4K ACDs with the MacPro-

Apple has started selling a Sharp 4K display in the online Apple store internationally. There's no way their offering was going to be ready in the short-term.

appleinsider.com/articles/13/12/06/in-li...t&utm_medium=twitter

I'd say spring at least now for 4K Apple Displays.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 08 Dec 2013 23:57 #35348

Great info DP. I'd be interested to see performance difference from the d500 vs the d700. From what I can tell comparing to the AMD web info the D300 and D500 match close to the w7000 fire pros, and the D700 matches closely to the w9000. Given the huge price spectrum froms stock to fully loaded that you have found out, I'd love to see the performance difference in FCPX with xCPU d500 vs Xcpu d700 and the prices difference. I'm leaning towards an 8 core with everything else stock. But if the performance is worth it I'd save for the 700's

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 09 Dec 2013 02:03 #35361

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
I think by the time I'm editing 4K on a regular basis it will be time for a another new Mac Pro.
Though I do like the idea of having a 4K monitor for all that extra realestate.
On a standard 1920x1200 FCPX does feel a bit big. Bit like when AVID was on 800 x 600 monitors back in the day.
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 09 Dec 2013 15:31 #35398

  • Topher5
  • Topher5's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • A work in progress.
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
What if you bought a High End (Core i7) 27" iMac and a Large Monitor(s).
(2560 x 1440 resolution)
2 Asus 27" ProArts that are 2K resolution.

That's would cost around than $4000.

I think I try editing a 2k or 2.7K job first to get my feet wet.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Topher5.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 09 Dec 2013 15:41 #35401

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10101
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1278
Remember that the more monitors, and the larger the monitors, you attach, the more the GPU has to work to power them. That's less GPU power left over for apps like FCP X. So you'd see a potential degradation in performance.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 09 Dec 2013 15:43 #35402

Thankfully, I don't think Apple is going to be putting me in the position of deciding between the existing Thunderbolt display and a 4K ACD.

For right now, my plan will continue to be 2x refurbed Thunderbolt ACDs for $1,600.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 09 Dec 2013 15:47 #35406

Remember that the more monitors, and the larger the monitors, you attach, the more the GPU has to work to power them. That's less GPU power left over for apps like FCP X. So you'd see a potential degradation in performance.

It will be interesting to see once it's launched how the MacPro's dual GPUs divvy up display vs processing.

I think the problem of really taxing configurations, like 2x4K displays or 4xThunderbolt displays will be relatively few and far between.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 09 Dec 2013 17:01 #35411

Based on the infor from AMD, the d700 edition should be quite fine with power left over even with 3 4K monitors. From AMD: "Its six mini DisplayPort outputs can drive up to six independent displays at a resolution 12X standard HD using AMD Eyefinity multi-display technology allowing designers unparalleled productivity and flexibility4,5."

This is for 1 w9000 which is what I believe the d700 is based on. Mac pro Has 2. Looking at how they calculate the 12x standard HD, its essentially 6 TB displays reaching 12x the pixel area of a full HD image. 12x the pixel area is also 3 4K displays (ultra HD not acual Cinema 4K).

www.amd.com/US/PRODUCTS/WORKSTATION/GRAP...000/Pages/w9000.aspx

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 11 Dec 2013 17:45 #35670

Please Log in to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 11 Dec 2013 19:17 #35675

  • tpayton
  • tpayton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: 25
  • Thank you received: 131
The current MacBook Pro of course has Thunderbolt 2 already.

Please Log in to join the conversation.