fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 17 Jul 2022 00:54 #121442

  • Slaughter
  • Slaughter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 2
As per attachment -
Bit of a paradox.
How and why, I don't know.... but surely "Apple Devices 1080" should export video at 1080p.
Any suggestions? It's irritating having to export and then run files into a different app to output to 1080p....
Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 17 Jul 2022 01:00 #121443

  • Slaughter
  • Slaughter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 2
Ugh, god. It's this weird way FCPX provides options. Change "format" to "computer" and one set of options comes up, change it to "Apple Devices" and different options come up. FCPX decides on the file type for you, you don't get decide.... pretty irritating but I can at least find a 1080p option. Sorry, I wanted to delete this thread after I found these options but maybe someone has a suggestion for making the process less..... strange.... cheers.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 17 Jul 2022 04:05 #121449

  • Slaughter
  • Slaughter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 2
Thanks. It's the entire thread which can probably go, but there is no way for me to do that. I'd rather leave the OP alone rather than having a weird empty thread sitting there, haha!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 13 Nov 2022 03:26 #122846

  • Slaughter
  • Slaughter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 2
As per attachment.

Relevant to this thread:

fcp.co/forum/4-final-cut-pro-x-fcpx/3543...er-upgrade-migration

What that thread outlines is that for some reason, with my config, under the specs as per signature in this post, I get pixellated red when I use any export option other than "video and audio". So now that I am editing at 4k, I have real problems a) keeping chapter markers and b) having to use a 2 step export process when I need a 1080p file:

As per thread above, if I choose "apple devices" or "computer"I have a 1080p option but the video quality is reduced significantly - red is pixellated. That thread proves the problem is a glitch in the version of FCPX I am stuck using.

As per attachment, FCPX (this version at least) does not do what it says it will do if you select the "video and audio" option under "Apple Devices 1080p". Is there really no way I can tell this version of FCPX to do what that share option says it will do? Or am I stuck having to use a 2 step export process if I want my 4K projected exported to 1080p, meaning I can never, ever have chapters until I can afford to spend $$$ on upgrading Pro Tools so that it is compatible with the OS that is needed to run a newer version of FCPX?

The answer is probably yes, I am stuck, but figured it can't hurt to ask...

_________________
imac pro 2019
Mojave 10.14.6 (can't upgrade yet as Pro Tools is too expensive to upgrade and won't work under newer OS as is)
FCPX 10.4.10 (can't upgrade yet as can't upgrade past Mojave for above stated reason)
and yes one day I will upgrade but mortgage repayments have skyrocketed.
Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 14 Nov 2022 19:50 #122885

I'm not so sure you're stuck here... what's happened is your default Cmd + E for export has been set to a different thing (or has been renamed). The icon is the giveaway.

First, open up Final Cut's preferences and go to the 'Destinations' pane. I only have one preset with that icon, and it's the default 'Export File'. Everything else is a Compressor preset that's been made available through the Share menu item, or the share icon in the upper-right corner of the interface above the inspector. Oh, except that one 'Save Current Frame' item (careful, they're big).

Attached are a couple of screenshots showing what I'm talking about. You can change the behavior of Cmd + E by right-clicking on any preset in that prefs list and choose 'Set Default'.
Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by dmetz.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 18 Nov 2022 23:54 #122953

  • Slaughter
  • Slaughter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 2
Thanks,
I never use a keyboard shortcut to export, I always navigate to the menu, and I have never made any changes to these settings. So FCPX has made its own decisions there.
Going into these settings doesn't give me any options for allowing a "video and audio" export iteration which is 1080p. I am only allowed to export "video and audio" as per the attached screenshot - at source resolution only :( - requiring me to handle the file once again post export because all of the other "apple devices" settings cause that pixellated (red) glitch.
Unless there *is* a way to tell FCPX that I want to export via "video and audio" *at 1080p*? I may be missing something? I think not, though. As per the screen shot, the "resolution" component of the "video and audio" export box is non-changeable.
(and don't get me started again on these patently nonsensical settings names - a setting called "video and audio" is like having a Pro Tools export setting called "sound recording" or a scanner output setting called "scanned image").
I think I am stuck because this version of FCPX + this imac pro + this OS causes the pixellation glitch at other export settings. Apple wants me to upgrade and I just can't afford to yet because it'll make Pro Tools no longer functional. Still, I think it's a fair thing to wonder about re: why "video and audio" can't be a setting which allows for an application native conversion to 1080p.
Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 22 Nov 2022 14:19 #122999

Click the 'Format' menu in your export panel's Settings tab, and select either 'Apple Devices' 'Computer' or 'Web Hosting' from the Publishing section- those will also export video and audio, but also offer lower resolution output. Just check the bottom of the window to verify the format and extension.

The Mastering output section is always full-res.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 30 Nov 2022 08:29 #123116

  • Slaughter
  • Slaughter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 2
Thanks, but I did explain that "this version of FCPX + this imac pro + this OS causes the pixellation glitch at other export settings."

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 30 Nov 2022 20:19 #123125

Yes, you did.

I still contend that there's something screwy with your export presets, and fixing that issue at the source may solve all of this.

Would you mind posting a screen shot of the Destinations pane of your FCP prefs?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 03 Dec 2022 04:05 #123164

  • Slaughter
  • Slaughter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: -1
  • Thank you received: 2
Here 'tis....
Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

"Apple Devices 1080" is exporting video at 4k. How to fix? 06 Dec 2022 18:02 #123204

Aside from the DVD, FB, YT, and Vimeo destinations, all of your presets are variations of the 'Export File' option on the right. You can select each of the presets on the left and set them to your preferred output - though you can still change settings when you're 'sharing' a timeline, and whatever you set / change will be remembered the next time you use that preset.

I might have missed it, but do you have Compressor?
I've found that FCP's native H.264 output uses nearly twice the bitrate necessary for most deliverables, so unless I'm exporting a ProRes master, I'm linking a tuned Compressor preset to the Share / Destinations panel. You can't change it on export, so you'll get whatever you specify in Compressor.

In a previous post you seemed confused about why Video and Audio was a thing - it can be changed to Video Only or Audio Only for those times when you might want just those components.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1