fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Need to better understand network requirements for closed captioning. 27 Mar 2023 15:13 #124742

I'm a solo videographer responsible for majority of our tv show's operations. I deliver episodes to a closed captioning service who recently had a security breach. I'm now faced with providing closed captioning and need to better understand if I can take on this aspect. From what I do know, it feels like it's not really a big deal. But then I started reading the networks captioning spec sheet and I'm not as confident.

(screenshots attached that go with below information)

network - "Files shall have CES-608/708 English language captions per SMPTE 334-1&2-2000 in ANC packet per SMPTE 436M-2008. Closed caption CDP values shall follow SMPTE RP2007. Additional languages require prior approval.Closed caption encoding must be done using component digital video equipment. Per EIA-608, captioning latency should be less than 5-video frames. All descriptive packets shall be valid with no null services."

Closed captioning data for HD (720p/59.94) material shall have English Closed Captioning with a resultant CDP of 52 or 59 and be encoded in the VANC of the material on line 9 as per SMPTE 334M-1995 and EIA 708B. The 708B packet shall include 608 legacy byes (EIA-608E) and be converted from the 608-authored data.Pre-recorded programs, excluding programs that initially aired with real-time captions, will be captioned offline before air except when, in the exercise of a programmer’s commercially reasonable judgment, circumstances require real-time or live display captioning.The allowable character set should be the ANSI/CEA-608-E standard character set with the following exceptions: