3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
The little things...
02 Feb 2012 06:57 #3728
by BenB
The little things... was created by BenB
A notice just sent out to my local FCPUG members I thought I'd share here:
I've been cranking away at 10.0.3 for over 24 hours now, and I've not had a single crash, at all. Very stable, most all the bugs I had are gone.
There is also a new feature I was puzzled by. Look in your individual Event and Project folders on your media drive. There's a new "Backups" folder, which has a backup copy of Events and Projects that are written every 15 minutes. This is in addition to the auto-save that happens as you work. I eventually created a test Event, put stuff in it, etc. After about 15 minutes I had the Backups folder there. I move the "CurrentVersion.fcpevent" file to the trash, and moved the backup copy to it's original location. Then launch FCP X. It immediately took that backup file and created a new, in tact "CurrentVersion.fcpevent" file. It also told me it could not read the backup copy, but, who cares, right? Very cool, we have backups! Just wish it was a function we could turn on and off.
Edit menu has two new sub-menus. One called Connect Title that contains a simple "Basic Title" (Cntrl-T) and simple "Basic Lower Third" (Shift-Cntrl-T). Another Insert Generator sub-menu that groups the previously existing Insert Gap Clip and Insert Place Holder together.
In the View menu is now a third Skimming option called Clip Skimming (Opt-Cmd-S) that turns on video only skimming only while your mouse cursor is over a clip in a Timeline. Again, this is only while the cursor is over a clip, not any other time, video skimming only. It's pretty handy. And it has a bug, as the keyboard shortcut doesn't actually work to turn it on and off, you have to do it via the View menu.
The Modify menu now has an option called "Adjust Content Created Date And Time" since we now can use this metadata to sync multicam clips.
In the Color Correction controls, you can now click-and-drag over the numeric values of the controls to change them smoothly, or click to highlight the numeric value and type. Of course highlighting a control and hitting Backspace will reset only that single control as before.
Burning DVDs now uses clip markers as Chapter Markers. Burning a DVD will not give you a chapter menu, but markers still create chapter markers that you can jump between using the DVD player remote control's Chapter Jump buttons.
Blackmagic and AJA have beta drivers out for their PCI cards and external I/O devices that seem to be working just fine. My AJA Kona LHi works great. But be sure you not only set it up in the Preferences' Playback section, but in the Window menu, turn on "A/V Output". Because this uses brand new technologies in Lion, and not QuickTime, it is only available in Lion. Matrox has drives coming soon. The whole broadcast out system is still technically in beta because of the advanced new technology it uses is not QT, everyone including Apple has to write it all from scratch, not just update some existing (outdated) QT driver.
7toX works just fine with both FCP 6 and FCP 7 XML export files. According to co-creator Philip Hodgetts this functionality was not possible at all until FCPXML 1.1 was released, which is why it took so long for us to get (six months, not that long). Many third party software is coming, too, such as "XtoPro" in late February which will create AFF files so you can bring your audio mix to ProTools.
Magic Bullet Looks is out for FCP X and works great! Available for half price for only a few days. Is a FREE update for those who already own it. One license covers all hosts (AE, FCP X, Motion, PPro, etc).
I STRONGLY recommend you read the whole section of the user manual about Multiclip editing, there is much more to it than meets the eye. I will state that it is about the most advanced, well thought out, flexible, and powerful multicam system around. If you're doing long clips syncing with audio, or a lot of clips syncing with audio, give each clip a marker first. They don't have to be too accurate, but it will speed things along. The user manual states that audio sync will be processor intensive. This method will cause FCP X to sync to the markers first, then sync to audio, and since you have most of the sync done via markers, the audio sync will go much faster.
help.apple.com/finalcutpro/mac/10.0.3/#ver23c76439
All advanced chorma and luma keyer controls that were previously only available in Motion are now fully functional and keyframable in FCP X directly.
help.apple.com/finalcutpro/mac/10.0.3/#ver40b0069e
I've been cranking away at 10.0.3 for over 24 hours now, and I've not had a single crash, at all. Very stable, most all the bugs I had are gone.
There is also a new feature I was puzzled by. Look in your individual Event and Project folders on your media drive. There's a new "Backups" folder, which has a backup copy of Events and Projects that are written every 15 minutes. This is in addition to the auto-save that happens as you work. I eventually created a test Event, put stuff in it, etc. After about 15 minutes I had the Backups folder there. I move the "CurrentVersion.fcpevent" file to the trash, and moved the backup copy to it's original location. Then launch FCP X. It immediately took that backup file and created a new, in tact "CurrentVersion.fcpevent" file. It also told me it could not read the backup copy, but, who cares, right? Very cool, we have backups! Just wish it was a function we could turn on and off.
Edit menu has two new sub-menus. One called Connect Title that contains a simple "Basic Title" (Cntrl-T) and simple "Basic Lower Third" (Shift-Cntrl-T). Another Insert Generator sub-menu that groups the previously existing Insert Gap Clip and Insert Place Holder together.
In the View menu is now a third Skimming option called Clip Skimming (Opt-Cmd-S) that turns on video only skimming only while your mouse cursor is over a clip in a Timeline. Again, this is only while the cursor is over a clip, not any other time, video skimming only. It's pretty handy. And it has a bug, as the keyboard shortcut doesn't actually work to turn it on and off, you have to do it via the View menu.
The Modify menu now has an option called "Adjust Content Created Date And Time" since we now can use this metadata to sync multicam clips.
In the Color Correction controls, you can now click-and-drag over the numeric values of the controls to change them smoothly, or click to highlight the numeric value and type. Of course highlighting a control and hitting Backspace will reset only that single control as before.
Burning DVDs now uses clip markers as Chapter Markers. Burning a DVD will not give you a chapter menu, but markers still create chapter markers that you can jump between using the DVD player remote control's Chapter Jump buttons.
Blackmagic and AJA have beta drivers out for their PCI cards and external I/O devices that seem to be working just fine. My AJA Kona LHi works great. But be sure you not only set it up in the Preferences' Playback section, but in the Window menu, turn on "A/V Output". Because this uses brand new technologies in Lion, and not QuickTime, it is only available in Lion. Matrox has drives coming soon. The whole broadcast out system is still technically in beta because of the advanced new technology it uses is not QT, everyone including Apple has to write it all from scratch, not just update some existing (outdated) QT driver.
7toX works just fine with both FCP 6 and FCP 7 XML export files. According to co-creator Philip Hodgetts this functionality was not possible at all until FCPXML 1.1 was released, which is why it took so long for us to get (six months, not that long). Many third party software is coming, too, such as "XtoPro" in late February which will create AFF files so you can bring your audio mix to ProTools.
Magic Bullet Looks is out for FCP X and works great! Available for half price for only a few days. Is a FREE update for those who already own it. One license covers all hosts (AE, FCP X, Motion, PPro, etc).
I STRONGLY recommend you read the whole section of the user manual about Multiclip editing, there is much more to it than meets the eye. I will state that it is about the most advanced, well thought out, flexible, and powerful multicam system around. If you're doing long clips syncing with audio, or a lot of clips syncing with audio, give each clip a marker first. They don't have to be too accurate, but it will speed things along. The user manual states that audio sync will be processor intensive. This method will cause FCP X to sync to the markers first, then sync to audio, and since you have most of the sync done via markers, the audio sync will go much faster.
help.apple.com/finalcutpro/mac/10.0.3/#ver23c76439
All advanced chorma and luma keyer controls that were previously only available in Motion are now fully functional and keyframable in FCP X directly.
help.apple.com/finalcutpro/mac/10.0.3/#ver40b0069e
Please Log in to join the conversation.

