fbpx
fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Fade to white but hold white for two seconds 25 Oct 2021 14:52 #116973

As a quick introduction, I am super-new to FCP. I am (slowly) going through the purchased Ripple training but FCP confounds me. I am super lost. Still, I keep trying. I can see its power, but it also feels like when I made the transition from Audacity to Reaper, Reaper being a professional's DAW.

I am a hobbyist.

All of that is to say I'm going to ask some really stupid questions...

And here's the first"

On a project that I create in Shotcut every other week, I fade to white and remain in white for two seconds. In SC, I basically have a track that's a huge white block under the primary track that extends from the beginning of the timeline to the end. A clip fades into that background white. I then put the next clip at two seconds later and fade in from white.

How can I achieve the same effect in FCP? I've seen several small how-tos on how to make a fade to white, but not a hold on the white for a specified number of seconds and I'm wondering if there's a better way.

Thanks all

Mike

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Fade to white but hold white for two seconds 25 Oct 2021 15:22 #116974

You can do this using the Fade to Color transition. Apply the transition and lengthen it as needed. With the transition selected in the Timeline in the inspector you'll have the transition controls. You can set the color to white. The Hold slider is the number of frames. In a 30fps project, 60 will be two seconds. How long the fade is depends on the length of the transition. You might want the transition to be 120 frames, for a one second fade to color, two second hold, and one second fade from color.
Attachments:

Last edit: by Tom Wolsky.