fbpx
fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 20 Oct 2021 11:58 #116811

I would like to copy clips from one library and project into the primary storyline of another. The clips in the original project are connected clips. Maybe I'm missing something simple but I cannot figure out how to do this. Is it possible?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 20 Oct 2021 12:42 #116813

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 671
You can not copy a connected clip and paste it to the primary storyline, period. There's no such function I can find to do that. You can copy a primary storyline clip, and there is a Paste As Connected function. Even pasting as a connected clip, then using Overwrite To Primary Storyline, that only works for video clips, not generators, not audio clips, not titles, so that's super limited, also. This has always baffled me why Apple ties our hands for these daily functions.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 20 Oct 2021 12:50 #116815

Thanks, Ben. Yes, this little limitation is creating a lot of extra work for me. But at least now I won't keep pulling my hair out trying to figure this out! Thanks for confirming this.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 21 Oct 2021 03:38 #116836

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 671
We can get Cinema Mode for iPhone 13 and tracking, but we can't get the most basic of copy/paste functions we all use daily.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 22 Oct 2021 23:45 #116917

You both have probably already submitted feedback for this feature request, but if not:
www.apple.com/feedback/finalcutpro.html
or
Final Cut Pro->Provide Final Cut Pro Feedback...

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 00:53 #116961

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 911
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 85
Unfortunately the best you can do is to copy, paste, then right click and Overwrite to Primary Storyline.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 04:44 #116963

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 671
Yeah, and that only works for video clips. Can't "Overwrite To Primary Storyline" with anything but a video clip, which seems really short-sighted to me. Why limit that? So if it's an audio clip, title, generator, etc, you have to use the Position tool, or some other time consuming work around. FCP's Copy and Paste functions are even more limited than its keyframe controls. After 10 years, they can't give us that, but they can give us tracking and Neon Glow...

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 04:56 #116964

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 911
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 85
I seem to be able to overwrite audio clips (regardless of role settings) to the primary storyline. Maybe you mean if you separate the audio and video you can't merge them back? That's a feature I'd like to see incorporated.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 11:23 #116968

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 671
As I said, the Overright To Primary Storyline function doesn't work with audio clips.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 11:24 #116969

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 671
As I said, the Overright To Primary Storyline function doesn't work with audio clips.

Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Ben Balser.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 17:41 #116977

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 911
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 85

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 22:49 #116983

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 671
So, how do you get that to work? I can't see it active across 5 different Macs. All latest FCP version, all latest Big Sur version. What are you doing differently? Can anyone else verify this is possible? "Audio Clip"? Really? I'm suspicious.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Ben Balser.

Paste Clips Into Primary Storyline 25 Oct 2021 22:57 #116985

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 911
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 85
Well, one difference that may matter is that I'm using FCP 10.4.10. I'm still on the late 2013 Mac Pro and don't want to go beyond Mojave on this machine for many reasons, the biggest of which are the amazing and easy functions of Quicktime 7 which are essential to me, and absolutely nothing offers those features.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1