fbpx
3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)

New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.

Question on proxy / optimised / transcoded media

More
23 Dec 2016 16:37 #84222 by PhilCF
Hi Guys,

I'm using a 2013 Macbook Pro and new FCPX to make a few vids while away. I'm working with some 4K 100Mbs drone footage, so when I bring it into FCPX, I import Proxy files.

Question 1:
I've edited the video and now I want to export in optimised format. Do I just click "View" - Optimised? Or, do I have to highlight the clips in the browser and transcode them as "Optimised media" first. I was under impression you can just click "view" "optimised media" and FCP does all the transcoding for you. Reason I ask is because the video is grainy as hell and the ISO never got over 100. And it's a Phantom Pro, so the image is usually clean as a whistle.

Question 2:
If I do have to transcode, what's the best way to do this? If I highlight the clips in the timeline, transcode option isn't available. If I highlight the clips in the browser, it means I have to transcode absolutely every clip I imported.

As always... big thanks to anyone who takes the time to help me out.

Phil

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
23 Dec 2016 19:06 #84229 by JoeEditor
Simply change the View menu setting to Original/Optimized, that's it.

You can only transcode in the Browser, and why would you do that? I'd not bother. You have the original, you have a proxy, you don't need to transcode.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
24 Dec 2016 15:59 #84248 by joema

phil@circuitfactory.ae wrote: ...I've edited the video and now I want to export in optimised format...4K 100Mbs drone...the video is grainy as hell and the ISO never got over 100...Do I just click "View" - Optimised? Or, do I have to highlight the clips in the browser and transcode them as "Optimised media" first. I was under impression you can just click "view" "optimised media" and FCP does all the transcoding for you....If I do have to transcode, what's the best way to do this? If I highlight the clips in the timeline, transcode option isn't available....


You transcode to proxy to improve performance *during* the editing phase, not for quality at export time. If you are finished editing, you don't need this anymore. Your task is exporting with your desired codec, resolution, and bit rate. As a first approximation, export directly from FCPX using File>Share>Master File>Settings, and pick Format: Computer, Video Codec: H.264 Faster Encode, Resolution: 4k. You can pick "better quality" but IMO it doesn't make much visible difference and encodes slower. If you have somehow used proxy, you'll need to set the viewer to optimized/original, else the exported file will be in proxy resolution. If you need more control over bit rate and encoding parameters, export to Compressor.

If the video looks grainy during edit, you probably have the viewer set to "Better Performance" not "Better Quality". For a better approximation of how the exported footage will look, switch it to "Better Quality".

In future 4k edits, if you transcode to proxy it will help editing performance. For that you select the clips in the browser, right click, "Transcode Media", and pick *only* "Create Proxy Media" -- not optimized. THEN you must set the viewer to proxy mode using the drop-down menu at the upper right of the viewer.

You can only transcode on a clip basis, not a range within a clip. If you shoot lots of material you can generally skim, rate and keyword the 4k content without transcoding (depending on the machine). Then you can select that smaller group and transcode to proxy.

If you already have a 4k timeline requiring further editing, you can transcode only the clips used in the timeline. Procedure:

(1) View>Browser>Used Media Ranges (enables orange strip signifying clip has been used in current project)
(2) Edit/Find (or CMD-F) to bring up the "filter HUD"
(3) Press the + key to add "Used Media" as a search condition
(4) Optionally press "New Library Smart Collection" to create a persistent smart collection for used media. Rename this something like "Used Media".
(5) While filtering on used media, select all the clip ranges with used media (hence used in timeline), right click and transcode to proxy. This will transcode just the clips with ranges used in the timeline.
(6) Switch viewer to proxy mode. Those without proxy files will turn red, which is normal. Remember to switch viewer back to optimized/original before export.

Please Log in to join the conversation.