3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
14 Nov 2016 12:06 #82724
by Emmanuel
10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip was created by Emmanuel
Hi guys
I'm facing an issue with 10.3
When I replace a clip, I loose all the markers that were on the original clip. It was not the case before.
Any idea/alternative ?
Thank you so much
Best
I'm facing an issue with 10.3
When I replace a clip, I loose all the markers that were on the original clip. It was not the case before.
Any idea/alternative ?
Thank you so much
Best
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 12:20 #82725
by JoeEditor
Replied by JoeEditor on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
Markers have always been assigned to a specific clip, and do not transfer to other clips in any manner. Yes, this was in fact the behavior in 10.2.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 12:22 #82726
by Emmanuel
Replied by Emmanuel on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
It was possible before. I've done it dozens of time
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 12:24 #82727
by Emmanuel
Replied by Emmanuel on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
Check the end of that video by T.Payton
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 15:04 #82739
by JoeEditor
Replied by JoeEditor on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
He's replacing the clip, with the same clip inside the sync.
I've never seen markers stay when doing a replace edit, ever. Maybe it is something I missed.
I've never seen markers stay when doing a replace edit, ever. Maybe it is something I missed.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 16:44 #82755
by Emmanuel
Replied by Emmanuel on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
Maybe it was intended to, but it used to work for sure
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 17:21 #82758
by lichinho
Replied by lichinho on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
That video you showed was using version 10.1.3. I tried in 10.2.3 and 10.3 and neither keeps the markers when doing a replace edit. I can only surmise that this change came with 10.2.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
15 Nov 2016 15:16 #82791
by Emmanuel
Replied by Emmanuel on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
In fact I was replacing an adjustment layer with a regular clip. It worked in 10.2.3
It was a good way to copy/paste a bunch of markers.
Anyway, it's gone now and I don't expect it will be back.
It was a good way to copy/paste a bunch of markers.
Anyway, it's gone now and I don't expect it will be back.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- heyitsjulian
-
- Offline
- New Member
-
Less
More
- Posts: 12
- Thank you received: 2
16 Nov 2016 20:17 #82859
by heyitsjulian
Replied by heyitsjulian on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
I just tested this and Replace Edit, for me, kept the markers that I had placed on the clip. They carried over to the replaced clip (I used Shift+R as well as dragged the new clip down over the clip to be replaced in the timeline, and both worked.) I am on 10.2.3 still. Shame to hear if it's gone from 10.3 
To piggyback off this, I was wondering if anyone knew if there was a way to transfer favorites, keywords, and markers made in the browser to new clips?
The reason I ask is our AE made multicam clips for a scene, but accidentally made them with the wrong frame rate and ratio (1280x720, 60p... instead of 1920x1080, 23.98). I found that you can modify the frame size of a Multicam Clip after-the-fact, but not the frame rate, so it looks like we will have to re-sync our footage and make new Multicams, but it means I will lose all the marking up done on the clips in the browser. I haven't been able to find that solution, but hoping there is one so that the logging work isn't lost!

To piggyback off this, I was wondering if anyone knew if there was a way to transfer favorites, keywords, and markers made in the browser to new clips?
The reason I ask is our AE made multicam clips for a scene, but accidentally made them with the wrong frame rate and ratio (1280x720, 60p... instead of 1920x1080, 23.98). I found that you can modify the frame size of a Multicam Clip after-the-fact, but not the frame rate, so it looks like we will have to re-sync our footage and make new Multicams, but it means I will lose all the marking up done on the clips in the browser. I haven't been able to find that solution, but hoping there is one so that the logging work isn't lost!
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- Scott Markowitz
-
- Offline
- Elite Member
-
Less
More
- Posts: 161
- Thank you received: 31
16 Nov 2016 21:39 #82861
by Scott Markowitz
Replied by Scott Markowitz on topic 10.3 Replacing clip deletes markers from that clip
Dang!!
I've used that is the past. Saved my bacon when the source clips instead of multicams got marked up.
It does seem that the functionality in previous versions was not really intended.
I would encourage everyone to send feedback to Apple about this.
Specifically, we should be able to select multiple markers on a clip in the browser or timeline, and be able to:
1. Move them all to a new postion on the same clip
2. Move them all to a new clip
3. Copy them (Option Drag, perhaps) to a new position or new clip
4. Of course, Copy and Paste them via ⌘C and ⌘V
I've used that is the past. Saved my bacon when the source clips instead of multicams got marked up.
It does seem that the functionality in previous versions was not really intended.
I would encourage everyone to send feedback to Apple about this.
Specifically, we should be able to select multiple markers on a clip in the browser or timeline, and be able to:
1. Move them all to a new postion on the same clip
2. Move them all to a new clip
3. Copy them (Option Drag, perhaps) to a new position or new clip
4. Of course, Copy and Paste them via ⌘C and ⌘V
Please Log in to join the conversation.



