- Posts: 119
- Thank you received: 6
3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
10.3 No more Original Filename or Reveal in Finder for Synced clips?
11 Nov 2016 09:51 - 11 Nov 2016 09:52 #82573
by Suzero
It seems that 10.3 has made working with synced clips a lot more cumbersome. We need to Open Clip to change audio configuration and more... all resulting in more clicks and wasted time.
A more serious issue for me is that Synced Clips no longer show Original Filename in the Extended Inspector info pane. I want to rename my clips to what I am seeing rather than leaving everything numbered as it came out of the camera. Being able to check the original filename in the inspector was perfect.
Also, when right-clicking on a synced clip Reveal in Finder is grayed out. It didn't used to be. It used to link to the original video file on disk. This causes real problems for my workflow.
Anyone know a workaround / something I am missing?
I am starting to dislike this update more and more
A more serious issue for me is that Synced Clips no longer show Original Filename in the Extended Inspector info pane. I want to rename my clips to what I am seeing rather than leaving everything numbered as it came out of the camera. Being able to check the original filename in the inspector was perfect.
Also, when right-clicking on a synced clip Reveal in Finder is grayed out. It didn't used to be. It used to link to the original video file on disk. This causes real problems for my workflow.
Anyone know a workaround / something I am missing?
I am starting to dislike this update more and more
Last edit: 11 Nov 2016 09:52 by Suzero. Reason: typos
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 09:12 #82716
by Suzero
Replied by Suzero on topic 10.3 No more Original Filename or Reveal in Finder for Synced clips?
Am I really the only one bothered by this?
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 11:19 #82721
by lichinho
Replied by lichinho on topic 10.3 No more Original Filename or Reveal in Finder for Synced clips?
I see no difference between 10.3 and 10.2.3.
When I select a synchronized clip in the browser, in the Inspector I see: "Multiple Files" and the "Reveal in Finder" button is greyed out - that is the same in both versions.
Now if I do Clip->Open Clip (previously this was called "Open in Timeline"), I can select each clip inside the Synced clip and "Reveal in Finder" works.
When I select a synchronized clip in the browser, in the Inspector I see: "Multiple Files" and the "Reveal in Finder" button is greyed out - that is the same in both versions.
Now if I do Clip->Open Clip (previously this was called "Open in Timeline"), I can select each clip inside the Synced clip and "Reveal in Finder" works.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
14 Nov 2016 14:09 #82733
by Suzero
Replied by Suzero on topic 10.3 No more Original Filename or Reveal in Finder for Synced clips?
I can't check it anymore as I don't have a version of FCP 10.2 anywhere, but I could've sworn this was possible without having to open the clip before. However I could be mistaken. Thanks for your reply!
Please Log in to join the conversation.
13 Dec 2016 15:37 #83959
by Suzero
Replied by Suzero on topic 10.3 No more Original Filename or Reveal in Finder for Synced clips?
In the meantime I found out that it was indeed like that in 10.2 too. However, the loss of Original Name is still a big problem for me. I have no idea why it is happening. Synced files perhaps? But even a synced file has an original name, right?
Please Log in to join the conversation.
13 Dec 2016 15:52 #83961
by JoeEditor
Replied by JoeEditor on topic 10.3 No more Original Filename or Reveal in Finder for Synced clips?
I never saw "Original File Name" work as expected. Was always blank for me all along.
Please Log in to join the conversation.



