fbpx
fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Is there a way to move markers ? 23 Aug 2016 15:07 #79371

  • manoucho
  • manoucho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 47
It's all in the title :)

Is there a way to move markers on a clip ? I have made an adjustment layer on a clip with many markers (to send to SugarFX subtitles) and now would like to make adjustments

Thank you !

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 23 Aug 2016 16:17 #79373

You can right click on a marker, cut, and then paste "command - v" markers where you need them.

that seems to be the only way I know. it's odd you can't just grab it and move it, or select and "command c" the marker.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 23 Aug 2016 18:26 #79374

You nudge a marker with ctrl+comma-period.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 23 Aug 2016 18:41 #79375

  • manoucho
  • manoucho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 47
Hey thank you guys ! Yes it would make sense to be able to just move them around...

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 09:53 #79383

You can move a marker roughly by just click on it and move it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 10:07 #79385

  • manoucho
  • manoucho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 47
What? How ?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 11:07 #79388

Like I described, make sure you keep your movement pretty much close to a horizontal move otherwise the marker will be deleted.
Markers work like tabs in text editors.
Snapping is more or less disabled though.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Andreas Kiel.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 12:52 #79391

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 1967
  • Karma: 27
  • Thank you received: 456

You can move a marker roughly by just click on it and move it...make sure you keep your movement pretty much close to a horizontal move otherwise the marker will be deleted.
Markers work like tabs in text editors. Snapping is more or less disabled though.

I can't get markers to move the way you describe, whether skimming or snapping is on or off. Am I missing something? What is the exact procedure?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by joema.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 13:09 #79392

Hi!
There is something fishy going on here with this option...

First: What Andreas Kiel is saying does not work for me :(
Second: If I click on the marker and press the keyboard shortcut I have assigned to nudge markers, it does not work. BUT! I created a keyboard shortcut to go to previous/next marker, so if I click "in the zone" of the marker, hit the go to next marker shortcut, and then the nudge marker shortcut, works at once. Weird, but works.
--
Matias Canelson
www.canelson.us

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 13:16 #79393

Here a screen cap (actual OS, actual FCPX)

dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/63959366/Final%20Cut%20Pro.mov

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 13:22 #79394

I can't replicate that. Click and drag does nothing for me (actual OS, actual FCPX).
--
Matias Canelson
www.canelson.us

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by canelson.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 13:41 #79395

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 1967
  • Karma: 27
  • Thank you received: 456
Likewise I cannot reproduce this. I see it in his video but whether I have skimming, snapping, or clip skimming on or off, I can't click and drag markers -- at least not in FCP 10.2.3 running on OS X 10.11.6.

It is also not a documented method of moving markers on Apple's web page:

support.apple.com/kb/PH12562?locale=en_US

However the click-to-drag behavior seems logical and intuitive. I wonder why it works sometimes and not others?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 14:20 #79396

  • manoucho
  • manoucho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 47
Andreas do you have a version we don't have ? :P

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 14:24 #79397

I would love to have a newer than you, but I don't have :(

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 14:28 #79398

  • manoucho
  • manoucho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 47
Another mystery of life.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 15:08 #79402

I knew I read/saw that before!

One feature implemented but not enabled in version 10.1 and 10.1.1 is the ability to move markers along a clip. It is possible to modify an installed copy of Final Cut to turn this feature on.

www.alex4d.com/notes/item/fcpx-movable-markers
--
Matias Canelson
www.canelson.us

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 16:12 #79404

  • manoucho
  • manoucho's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 47
OMG haha

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 24 Aug 2016 18:53 #79409

:ohmy: Wow, I watched the video Andreas posted and it totally blew my mind. Never seen that before (and like others, haven't been able to replicate it.)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 25 Aug 2016 08:54 #79428

alex4d's trick works! I also wanted to move markers since 2011 and now it's possible. Seems to be stable, no issues so far. The markers even vanish in a little cloud like icons removed from the dock, when moved and released above the timeline. Nice.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Is there a way to move markers ? 09 Jul 2021 10:28 #115349

Yes, there is a way.
help.commandpost.io/getting-started/faq
Hope I could help.



Please Log in to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1