fbpx
3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)

New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.

Creating a project after the fact

More
28 Mar 2016 13:07 #74708 by mylescdavis
When I began using FCPX, I started two videos without creating projects for them. Apparently, everything I added after I brought the first clip into the timeline is attached to that clip, which I open in the timeline from the browser. This seems to work OK, and my plan is to finish these two, thank whatever pixellated deities are listening that it worked, and do things properly from now on.

However, this does prevent me from doing things like saving versions of the videos as snapshots, and, I expect, a few other things I don't know about.

So - is there any way that I can move these projects-that-aren't-projects into a new project? If I create a new project in the timeline and open the clip to which everything is attached, only the clip opens - all the attached clips are lost.

Thanks for any ideas you might have.

Myles

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
28 Mar 2016 14:13 - 28 Mar 2016 14:36 #74711 by BenB
NEVER edit in a clip's own Timeline. Here's what you do.
Open the clip's own Timeline
Command-A (copy all)
Create a new Project, open it into the Timeline pane.
Command-V (paste)

Now, go back into that original clip's Timeline, which is full of your original edited stuff, and delete everything except the contents of the original clip itself.

Then you'll be back on track, as you should be.
Last edit: 28 Mar 2016 14:36 by BenB.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
28 Mar 2016 14:27 #74712 by mylescdavis

BenB wrote: NEVER edit in a clip's own Timeline. Here's what you do.
Open the clip's own Timeline
Command-A (copy all)
Create a new Project, open it into the Timeline pane.
Command-V (paste)

Now, go back into that original clip, and delete everything except the contents of the original clip itself.
Then you'll be back on track, as you should be.


Yep, I got the never part! :)

Thanks very much for this. I tried the copy-all procedure, but dragging everything to the project in the browser. Your method is logical, I guess I ran out of logic.

One question - if I have multiple clips derived from that original clip, should I delete all those as well, leaving only one clip from the original clip? Hope that makes sense.

Thanks again,

Myles

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
28 Mar 2016 14:35 - 28 Mar 2016 14:36 #74716 by BenB
Yes, that's what I mentioned in my last paragraph. Edited for clarity.
Last edit: 28 Mar 2016 14:36 by BenB.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
28 Mar 2016 14:43 #74717 by mylescdavis

BenB wrote: Yes, that's what I mentioned in my last paragraph. Edited for clarity.


OK. The reason for my question is that I have a dozen or so clips in the timeline that are derived from (small chunks based on) that one clip that I edited in the timeline. Just trying to understand whether all those but one need to be deleted, but, if I understand you correctly, they don't.

I understand the frustration of teaching the clueless... :S

In any case, I'm way better off than I was.

Thanks,

Myles

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
28 Mar 2016 18:36 #74719 by BenB
If you right-click on a clip in the Browser, and use "Open In Timeline", and see anything besides the audio and video content of the original clip, you have other media in that clip that should NOT be there at all. Get rid of it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.