- Posts: 33
- Thank you received: 2
3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Preference and Render folders.
Or would deleting them cause chaos ?
If not, then after deleting, can I just reload the library and do a fresh 'render' to bring the library up to date before exporting it for archive ?
Also, when people here recommend trashing your preferences ... are they referring to deleting all files in the Preference Folder ?
I would like to clear the project entirely from the iMac and have the library and Master file archived on another drive.
Thanx in advance.
Greg
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- Tom Wolsky
-
- Offline
- Moderator
-
Select the library or event and from the File menu use Delete Generated Files.
To reset preferences to the default state hold Opt-Cmd as you launch the application.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Tom Wolsky wrote: Start by switching off background rendering in preferences.
I'm new to FCPX and MAC. I haven't seen that option, but will look for it. my version is 10.something.
Tom Wolsky wrote: Select the library or event and from the File menu use Delete Generated Files.
OK .. will try that when I get home from work tonight.
Tom Wolsky wrote: To reset preferences to the default state hold Opt-Cmd as you launch the application.
The application being FCPX ? So Hold down the Opt-CMD and double click the FCPX shortcut icon ?
Thanx Mate .... hopefully that will all go well.
Greg
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Does anyone know of any reason why that can't be done after every edit?
Greg.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Also ... a small bug... maybe.
I deleted all unused items in the library as part of the final clean up. I noticed that where I had used, say, the middle 10 seconds of a 30 second clip, the remaining unused portion of the clip showed up as two separate 10 second clips in the 'unused items' in the Library.
I deleted these only to find, upon switching the library to display all clips, that the entire 30 second clip had been deleted including the part I had used.
It had not affected the timeline, just removed it from the library. I could have re-imported it but I no longer knew that if my modifications and effects would be held in place should the timeline reference it.
So, not sure what I did exactly, but I right clicked on each clip in the timeline and copied and made a compound clip which appeared in the library. So now the library at least has copies of the clips in the timeline. But those clips now have different names in the library compared to the timeline..
Live and learn ...
Greg
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- Tom Wolsky
-
- Offline
- Moderator
-
If the clip is in a project you won;t get the trash dialog because an instance of the media still remains in the library. If you do want to bring the clip that's in the project but missing from the browser, you simply have to use Shift-F for reveal in browser.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
I selected the file/s in the library, top left corner of FCPX, and hit delete. I think I received a confirmation pop-up which I clicked. I thought, at that point, that only the unused portions of the clips would be deleted ... but it appears the whole clip went.
This is my first time in FCPX and first time with a Mac. But I am sure that the photos in my library are located there (consolidated). In other words, if I deleted every photo on my computer, the library would still have it's copies.
Though the deleted clips remain in the timeline, and the vid will play etc ... they cannot be found in the library. I would have thought this was impossible but evidently not so.
I had emptied the trash by this stage. So now, somewhat panic-y, I thought I should reload the original media back into the library. But then I right-clicked on each vid-clip in the timeline and was given the option to create a new compound clip.
This appeared to work, the new compound clip became visible in the library. ... but only the section I had used, not the unused, which is OK anyway.
So now my library contains the exact same material as the timeline. Tho the clips now have different names.
I hope this, my explanation, is not too incoherent
Please Log in to join the conversation.
when you choose a clip in the browser and hit "delete", FCPX will not move the clip to the trash, but mark it as rejected. And there is a drop-down menu at the top of the browser that lets you choose what the browser should show. It tends to default to "hide rejected" which means that once you hit delete and reject a clip or portions of it, it will no longer be shown in the browser. Check your drop-down menu and choose "show all clips". Just my 2 cents.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Thanx so much for the help.
Last night I discovered that my interpretation of a compound clip may differ somewhat from the reality ... So now I am reading up on what they are and how they work. The shift+F command was very helpful, as was the reveal all clips.
Thank You for time and patience ... Greg
Please Log in to join the conversation.

