fbpx
3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)

New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.

Deleting clip from event??

More
16 Oct 2014 21:36 #54245 by Jonathan Levin
Hi all.

Quick question. If I delete a clip that is used in the timeline from an event i.e. Move to Trash, why does the clip in the timeline remain on the timeline. I would think that I would get an offline message.

The reason I ask is if I have a clip in the timeline that I don't want, I thought deleting it from the event would also remove it from the time line.

Just curious. Thanks for your input again.

Jonathan

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
16 Oct 2014 22:19 #54250 by ronny courtens
Hi Jonathan,

When you delete a file in the Finder that is used in FCP X the clip will go offline both in the Event and in every Project where you have used that clip. The offline clip stays on the timeline to preserve your edit, which is a very good thing. Just imagine you would launch FCP X without your media drive connected and all the clips would be deleted from your timeline. I don't think you would be happy about this.

- Ronny

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
16 Oct 2014 23:53 #54254 by Tom Wolsky
They are separate instances of the same clip. If you're using managed media and move to trash both the vent clip and the timeline clip you will get the warning that the clip is being trashed. It then goes to the trash, when the last instance of the clip use is gone.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2014 02:37 #54264 by Jonathan Levin
Great! Thanks for that Ronny and Tom! The more I work with this the more I like editing.

Please Log in to join the conversation.