fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Upscale HD to 4k 06 Jun 2016 16:38 #77524

  • knesaren
  • knesaren's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 26
How do I achieve the best result for upscaling HD footage to 4K. We're change our production equipment to 4K and the footage in the intro is HD. I need this in 4K.

Will Compressor give me a better result than FCPX?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by knesaren.

Upscale HD to 4k 07 Jun 2016 02:44 #77537

Compressor does have different settings for upscale method, so you can test with a short clip and see what looks the best,
Set the Resize filter to 'best (Statistical Prediction)' for the highest quality.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Upscale HD to 4k 07 Jun 2016 12:50 #77552

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10101
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1278
You'll not get perfectly clean upscaling from HD to 4K with Compressor. It will do it, but not very cleanly. Also depends on how much action/movement is in the content. Run a short test and see what you get. I'll post some side by side examples later when I'm back in may office.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Upscale HD to 4k 07 Jun 2016 17:02 #77555

  • finalbug.net
  • finalbug.net's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Absence of Quality is the essence of squareness.
  • Posts: 416
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 15
I have not tried this but maybe it is also worth checking out.
It looks like they have a free trial:
www.redgiant.com/products/instant-4k/

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Upscale HD to 4k 07 Jun 2016 21:12 #77566

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10101
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1278
That's probably the best solution today. If you do this a lot, $99 ain't too bad.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Upscale HD to 4k 07 Jun 2016 21:17 #77567

After Effects "Detail Preserving Upscale" is pretty good. But then there's that rent....

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Upscale HD to 4k 09 Jun 2016 20:32 #77688

Last time I tried with Compressor, I couldn't get the bitrate higher than 30mbps in H.264. It seemed like a compressor limitation? Not sure.

So unless there's a way to work around that limitation, I wouldn't use Compressor. 4K videos should have at least 45mbps for YouTube and even more for other uses.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Upscale HD to 4k 13 Jun 2016 19:56 #77779

Setting the data rate to custom should allow you to type in whatever data rate you want.
If this isn't working for you, maybe you have a glitch, or aren't starting with the 'QuickTime Movie' preset. (the MPEG-4 limits the bitrate for some reason)


Plus I kind of assumed since the OP was referring to a logo, that they would use ProRes.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by MarkNelsonMovies. Reason: add information

Upscale HD to 4k 23 Jun 2016 15:05 #78071

If you apply one of the QuickTime movie presets, say 4K Video Sharing, and choose custom for bit rate in the Inspector, you should be able to specify something well above 30 Mbps.

Russ

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Russ Haskell. Reason: typo
  • Page:
  • 1