- Posts: 54
- Thank you received: 1
3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Exported files won't open in Premiere Pro
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
oldsoul wrote: Just tested exporting a ProRes 422 Master File from FCP and that imported fine. But when using the Share export in FCP NO GOOD.
Can you give more detail about "Share export in FCP NO GOOD". I did File>Share>Master File>Settings, Format: Video & Audio, Video Codec: Source - Apple ProRes 422, resolution was 3840 x 2160.
For HD XDCAM 422.mov I did File>Send to Compressor>New Batch, and in Compressor under MXF I added the default XDCAM HD 422 preset, then clicked "Start Batch". Both imported to Premiere Pro 14.3.2 just fine.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
When I said Share before I meant I had a compressor setting(XDCAM422 & ProRes 422) setup in my FCP Share menu.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
FIrst I suggest simplifying the scenario. Just take one short test clip, export that to ProRes 422 and see if will import to Premiere. If not take that same test clip and import it to the free version of Resolve, then export it to ProRes 422 and see if Premiere will accept that.
Try putting the file in a different location to make sure it's not a permissions problem. In Finder do CMD+I on the file, scroll down to the bottom, unlock "sharing and permissions" and grant group "everyone" read/write permissions on the file and folder it's in. Make sure it is a local, directly-attached hard drive not a NAS drive, cloud drive, etc. Try the import to Premiere on the same physical machine, not a different machine.
It is likely a config or permissions issue, nothing related to ProRes or the FCPX encoder. You get the same error on H264 exports. If Premiere could not import any ProRes or H264 file from FCPX 10.4.9, we'd have known that long ago.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
OK Took a clip exported to ProRess 422.mov and XDCAM422.mxf. Both would not import into PP. I changed the permissions of both so "Everyone" had Read & Write. The .mxf imported into PP. The ProRes did not.
I then took the ProRes and opened in Resolve. Exported out as a ProRes and that imported into PP.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Many Premiere users have reported that error "we were unable to open the file on disk" with various file types, not just ProRes. If that same exported ProRes file will play in Finder and import to Resolve, that might imply it's a Premiere problem or a system problem such as missing Adobe support files.
However it's also possible Apple made some permissible change to their ProRes encoder and Premiere isn't handling it properly. It can't be a widespread problem because ProRes is a common post-production infrastructure. Worldwide probably hundreds or thousands of files per hour are being sent between Premiere and FCPX.
To rule out the possibility of a specific source clip triggering this, if you could reproduce it using a very small source clip then upload it to DropBox, etc, I could test that on several machines.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
www.dropbox.com/sh/scolr07wbskvy5p/AADFu...BXMlmSJysvLvUPa?dl=0
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- Andreas Kiel
-
- Offline
- Platinum Member
-
- Posts: 1077
- Thank you received: 189
The files you uploaded won't import here into PPro as well, displaying the same error code.
When I export from FCP using ProRes though it works fine here. Haven't tried XDCAM.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
oldsoul wrote: I exported the same piece as ProRes and XDCAM...
Using your 1080p/29.97 test clip "Export Test - ProRes422.mov" I can reproduce the problem on Premiere 14.3.2 and 14.4.0 on two different machines. Examination of the video header with Invisor doesn't show anything obviously wrong: apps.apple.com/us/app/invisor-media-file...or/id442947586?mt=12
Your test clip imports OK to FCPX 10.4.9 and Resolve 16.2.6. In FCPX if I re-export that same clip to ProRes 422, then Premiere will take it. IOW if I process the clip in any way using any software, it doesn't happen.
Can you take your exported test clip, import it, then re-export it as ProRes 422 and check that with Premiere? That may help determine if it's related to your original source clip. If creation of the problem clip only happens on your machine with your timeline, then it might be a plugin, 3rd-party effect, etc. But normally that would not create an apparent encoding issue in a ProRes output file.
I also tried simply re-wrapping your test file with EditReady2, and that also avoids the problem. That might be a temporary workaround. Since no re-encoding happens, it is super fast: www.divergentmedia.com/editready
Since the error happens on the Premiere side, IMO Adobe needs to take the lead initially. They have the source code and can run their product under a debugger and determine why it's throwing that error when importing that file, when other NLEs don't do that. We see the simplified error "unable to open the file on disk", but at the source code level it is failing a specific check or series of checks. It might be getting an error return from a call to a decoding framework. Without source code (which only they have) it's impossible to tell if it's an issue with encoding, decoding, ProRes specs, software framework, etc.
If Adobe's examination shows it's an issue on their side they can fix it. If it shows it's an FCPX encoding problem, their developers need to talk to FCPX developers. They have each other's contact info for cases like this.
You can initiate this process by starting a support case with Adobe, and sending them the test file. It would help if you could make the creation of the problem clip happen on another machine. Given your output clip we can see Premiere raise the error on other machines, but we cannot recreate that bad clip.
Without getting any deeper you could also try some basic troubleshooting steps -- not because they are likely to fix the problem but because they are easy to take and have fixed other problems previously.. Examples:
- Reset FCPX preferences (item 11): support.apple.com/en-us/HT203477
- Disable background rendering in FCPX preferences, delete all render files in the library via Files>Delete Generated Library Files>Delete Render Files>All, then select all timeline clips with CMD+A, and render them to cache with CTRL+R. After that export your test clip, and try the Premiere import test.
- If it still happens, right-click the project and select "Snapshot Project". Open that snapshot, select all clips with CMD+A, then remove all effects with Edit>Remove Effects. Export that and try to import to Premiere. If it works it could be some interaction of effects and the source media.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
- alangreene
-
- Offline
- New Member
-
- Posts: 3
- Thank you received: 0
Please Log in to join the conversation.



