fbpx
fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
{JFBCLogin}
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Unable to Move Library 02 Dec 2021 07:45 #117763

I am currently trying to move one FCP library (roughly 500gb) from one external hard drive to another (both drives formatted MacOS Extended), and every time I do the transfer gets about half way done then I receive a message saying "the operation can't be completed because the item is in use." I'm not sure how the item can be in use if FCP is not even running. I have tried moving the library to multiple different drives, copy paste, drag and drop, nothing works. I opened a backup file of the library and tried to move it and got the same message. Has anyone else encountered this issue? I have been using FCPX for 9 years and have never had this happen before. Someone please help.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Unable to Move Library 02 Dec 2021 12:47 #117771

Have you tried opening the library in FCP, creating a new library on the target drive and then copying each event into it (using FCP)? At least you might have a clue about which event contains the issue if FCP chokes at some point?

Unable to Move Library 02 Dec 2021 15:33 #117773

• joema
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 473
Empty the trash, make sure Finder is in list mode, not icon mode, then try again.